REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The State of Texas)(
		Grayson County Junior College District
County of Grayson)(

At 12:03 p.m. on the twenty eighth day of April 2015, the following members were present for the regular session of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Dr. Mack Broiles - President
Mr. Ronnie Cole - Vice President
Dr. Debbie Plyler- Secretary
Mrs. Jackie Butler - Member
Mr. Ralph Jones - Member
Mr. Bill McFatridge - Member
Mr. Rad Richardson - Member

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Dr. Regina Organ, Vice President of Student Services; Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Mrs. Carla Fanning, Faculty President; Shelle Cassell, Marketing Director and Public Information Officer; Dr. Debbie Smarr, Director of Planning, Research, Assessment, and Accreditation; Mr. Randy Truxal, Director of Grayson College Foundation; and Dr. Dava Washburn, Assistant to the President; Dr. Chase Machen, Interim Dean of Academic Studies; Mr. Steve Davis, Dean of Workforce Education; Dr. Kim Williams, Special Assistant to the President for Workforce, Mrs. Barbara Malone, Director of Counseling, and Mrs. Djuna Forrester, Executive Director for the Center for Workplace Learning.

President Broiles called the meeting to order and welcomed Ms. Mary Linder, Phi Theta Kappa Advisor and Government Instructor, and Phi Theta Kappa representatives: Brandon Robinson, Elizabeth Taylor, Michael More, Stacie Pope Felt, and George Melchor.

After discussion with the board, President Broiles requested that the following consent agenda items be removed from the consent agenda:

- a) Approval of Minutes from the Regular Board Meeting, March 30, 2015
- e) Consideration of Strategic Plan for 2020
- f) Consideration of Associate in Arts in Music Degree Revision
- h) First Read of TASB Update 30 (Local) Policies

Upon a motion by Mr. Ronnie Cole and a second by Dr. Debbie Plyler, the following consent agenda items were unanimously approved:

- b) President's Report
- c) Consideration of TASB Update 30 (Legal) Policies
- d) Consideration of revised DEE (Local) Travel Policy and DIA (Local)
 Employee Welfare
- g) Consideration of implementing IncludED as a book purchase option in fall
 2015
- i) Consideration of Contract Extensions Personnel Reporting to the President,
 Vice Presidents, and Executive Director of the Grayson College Foundation

Mrs. Jackie Butler cited a typo mistake in the minutes from the March 30, 2015 board minutes. The minutes were edited to read "Dr. Debbie Smarr presented a thorough explanation of the College's Economic Impact Study, which reflected student data from FY 2012-2013." Upon this correction, the minutes of the March 30, 2015 board meeting were unanimously approved upon a motion by Mr. Ronnie Cole and a second by Dr. Plyler.

Dr. McMillen presented the Annual Strategic Planning Report for 2015 and outlined the College's overarching goal of 2020 completers by 2020. Completers include degrees, certificates, core complete, and marketable skills awards. Upon a motion by Mrs. Jackie Butler and a second by Mr. Bill McFatridge, the Strategic Plan for 2020 was unanimously approved.

Dr. McMillen reported on the college's revision to its Associate of Arts in Music degree. The College was notified by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating

Board that the College's request to have an Associate of Arts in Music degree with 64 semester credit hours was denied. Consequently, the Curriculum Committee and Executive Council approved to remove a 4 credit hour Life and Physical Science course requirement to meet the 60 semester credit hour THECB rule. Following discussion about transfer institutions not requiring science credit hours, the revision to the AA in Music degree was unanimously approved upon a motion by Mrs. Jackie Butler and a second by Dr. Debbie Plyler.

From the first read of the TASB Update 30 (Local) policies, several of the policies were asked to be reviewed further prior to the board considering approval at a future board meeting. Specifically, the following policies were highlighted: DGBA (Local), FLD (Local), and GFA (Local).

Giles Brown presented the business office and quarterly investment report. Both reports were unanimously approved upon a motion made by Mr. McFatridge and a second by Mr. Cole.

Dr. Smarr presented the College's highlights of the 2014 survey results for the Survey of Entering Student Engagement (SENSE).

Dr. McMillen reported that the College had received the following resignations: Dr. Tony Stanzo, Dean of Academic Studies; Ms. Theresa Barnett, Softball Coach/Athletic Director; Mr. Steve Hill, HART Director; and Dr. Jeanie Hardin, Vice President for Instruction. Upon a motion and second by Mrs. Jackie Butler and Mr. Ralph Jones, the College accepted the resignations with regret.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 12:43.

Secretary	

APPROVED AND ADOPTED:			
President, Board of Trustees			