## **REGULAR BOARD MEETING**

The State of Texas )(

Grayson County Junior College District

County of Grayson )(

At 7:00 PM on the twenty-third day of September 2014, the following members were present for the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Bill McFatridge	
Ralph Jones	
Ruby Jo Williams	
Debbie Barnes-Plyler	
Mack Broiles	
Jackie Butler	
Ronnie Cole	

President
Vice President
Secretary
Member
Member
Member

- Member

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Dr. Regina Organ, Vice President of Student Services; Carla Fanning, Faculty Association President; Shelle Cassell, Director of Marketing and Public Information; Mr. Randy Truxal, Executive Director of the Foundation; and Dr. Dava Washburn, Executive Assistant to the President;

President McFatridge called the meeting to order.

Dr. McMillen recognized Ms. Linda Watkins and Rene Garcia, the College's coaches for Achieving the Dream. In addition, Dr.McMillen recognized Ms. Mary Linder, Grayson College Government Instructor and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor.

The minutes of the June 22, 2014 regular meeting were approved with the revision to include the approval of the Emergency Management Plan and Annexes A, B, F, and G. With the motion and second by Mr. Cole and Dr. Broiles, the motion passed unanimously. The minutes of the August 26, 2014 minutes were approved as presented from a motion made by Mrs. Williams and a second by Mrs. Butler.

Dr.McMillen reported that the original building constructed on the South Campus did not have a name, and the Executive Council recommended the name "South Campus Academic Center." Upon a motion to name formally the building and a second by Mr. Cole and Mrs.Butler, the motion passed.

The Grayson College Board of Trustees had two positions available for the November 4, 2014 election. At the close of the election filing process, two candidates had filed for the positions. As prescribed by the Secretary of State, the College must certify that Mr. Ralph T. Jones and Mr. Eby Rad Richardson are unopposed in the election. Dr. Plyler and Mrs. Williams made the motion and seconded to receive and accept the two candidates. As a result of the two positions being received and accepted, the motion to cancel the election passed unanimously after a motion made by Mrs. Williams and a second by Dr.Broiles.

Mr. McFatridge noted that the Trustees were asked to consider approval of the sale of real estate at a delinquent tax foreclosure and additionally a piece of struck-off property. Upon a motion made by Mrs. Williams and a second by Mrs. Butler, the motion to approve the delinquent tax foreclosure and struck-off property was approved unanimously.

Dr.Smarr presented the Executive Summary of the 2013-14 Assessment Report. Additionally, Dr. Smarr presented the 2013-2014 QEP Annual Report. Lastly, Dr. Smarr shared her pictograph for the Fall 2011 Cohort, highlighting progress of student success. Dr.Organ presented the current enrollment report as of September 15, 2014. Included in the report was the current unduplicated headcount of 4,665 and credit hours of 44, 671. Additional efforts are being made by departments to schedule additional Fall Flex courses, which are scheduled to begin October 20<sup>th</sup>.

Mr. Giles Brown provided the current business report for August-September 2014. Upon a motion by Mrs. Williams and a second by Mrs. Butler, the business office report was approval unanimously.

Dr.McMillen presented the President's Report. Included in his report was a presentation to Mary Linder for five years of service as a PTK Advisor.

Due to the Morrison Scholarship dinner previously scheduled for the evening of November 18<sup>th</sup>, the Trustee Meeting will begin at 8:30 am.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:48 p.m.

Secretary

APPROVED AND ADOPTED:

President, Board of Trustees