REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The State of Texas)(

Grayson County Junior College District

County of Grayson)(

At 6:48 p.m. on the twenty sixth day of March 2013 the following members were present for the regular session of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held at in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Bill McFatridge	- President
Ralph Jones	- Vice President
Ruby Jo Williams	- Secretary
Dr. Debbie Barnes	s/Plyler - Member
Dr. Mack Broiles	- Member
Jackie Butler	- Member
Ronnie Cole	- Member

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Dr. Jeanie Hardin, Vice President for Instructional Services; Dr. Roy Renfro, Vice President for Resource and Community Development; Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Brandy Fair, Faculty Association President; Dr. Debbie Smarr, Director on Institutional Research; Shelle Cassell, Director of Marketing and Public Information; and Linda Blount, Executive Assistant to the President.

President McFatridge called the regular meeting to order. He welcomed Jack Ridgeway; Mary Linder, Phi Theta Kappa Sponsor and Government Professor; and Jerrie Whiteley *Herald Democrat*.

The minutes of the February 25, 2013 regular meeting were unanimously approved as printed upon a motion by Mr. Cole and a second by Mrs. Williams.

Dr. McMillen presented the tax abatement resolution that by state statute is required to be reviewed/renewed every two years by participating taxing entities. It was recommended to continue the college's policy as practiced the last couple of years. Dr. Broiles made the motion to approve the tax abatement resolution as presented. Dr. Plyler-Barnes seconded the motion and it was unanimously approved.

Dr. McMillen discussed and distributed the results of the recent SENSE (Survey of Entering Student Engagement) and the CCSSE (Community College Survey of Student Engagement), and members viewed a CCSSE video.

Gary Paikowski gave an update on the Information Technology department's network upgrade project.

Giles Brown presented the business office report. The report was unanimously approved upon a motion made by Mrs. Williams and a second by Mr. Cole.

Dr. McMillen announced awards received by the Phil Theta Kappa organization and Sponsor/Professor Mary Linder. He shared information regarding English Professor Melinda McBee's recent American Literature Award.

Dr. McMillen reported that a letter of retirement has been received from Fred Moore, Director Computer Maintenance Technology. Mrs. Williams moved that the letter of retirement be accepted with regret. Dr. Barnes-Plyler seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

At 8:34 p.m. President McFatridge announced that the Board would conduct a closed session under the Texas Government Code, Section 551.074, for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

The meeting reconvened into open session at 8:41 p.m.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:41 p.m.

Secretary

APPROVED AND ADOPTED:

President, Board of Trustees