## **REGULAR BOARD MEETING**

The State of Texas	)(	
		Grayson County Junior College District
County of Grayson	)(	

At 8:32 a.m. on the twenty-seventh day of November 2012 the following members were present for the regular session of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Bill McFatridge - Vice President
Ruby Jo Williams - Member
Ralph Jones - Member
Dr. Mary Moses - Member

President Janet Gott, and Jack Norman were absent. One vacancy exists.

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Dr. Jeanie Hardin, Vice President of Instruction; Marc Payne, Vice President of Student Services; Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Dr. Brandy Fair, Faculty President; Shelle Cassell, Marketing Director and Public Information Officer; and Linda Blount, Executive Assistant to the President.

Vice President McFatridge called the regular meeting to order. He welcomed to the meeting: Jerrie Whiteley and Gary Sewell representing the *Herald Democrat;* and Grayson College employees Lisa Hebert, Librarian; Gregg Miles, Student Life Director; and Andy MacPherson, Public Safety Director. He also introduced Darlene Brown, widow of former Board Member Bobby Brown.

Dr. McMillen presented a special award to Darlene Brown in honor of her late husband Bobby Brown for his service to the Board of Trustees. He also presented an award honoring the many years of service to retiring Board Member Dr. Mary Moses. Awards will be presented to outgoing President Janet Gott and Jack Norman at a later date.

Dr. McMillen administered the Statement of Officer and then the Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members, Dr. Broiles, Mrs. Butler, Mr. Cole, and Dr.

Barnes-Plyler. They subsequently signed the official forms, which are made a part of these minutes and their files.

Dr. Moses and Mrs. Brown left the meeting.

Following the swearing-in, Mr. Jones nominated Mr. McFatridge to the position of President of the Board. Dr. Barnes-Plyler seconded the nomination, which was unanimously approved.

Mrs. Williams nominated Mr. Jones for the position of Vice President of the Board. Mr. Cole seconded and the nomination was unanimously approved.

Mr. Jones nominated Mrs. Williams as Secretary to the Board. Dr. Broiles seconded and the nomination was approved unanimously.

President McFatridge and other members repeated the Loyalty Oath of Ethics and Integrity and signed the official form to be retained in their personnel files.

Mrs. Williams moved that Mr. Cole be elected as the Board of Trustees representative to serve on the Foundation Board, and Mr. Jones seconded. The motion was approved unanimously.

Mr. Cole moved that Dr. Barnes-Plyler and Dr. Broiles serve as representatives of the Board of Trustees on the Tax Reinvestment Committee and Mr. Jones seconded. The motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Cole moved that Mr. McFatridge continue to serve the existing term (ending in 2014) in his role as representative of the Board of Trustees on the Texoma Council of Government (TCOG) and Mrs. Williams seconded. The motion was unanimously approved.

The minutes of the October 15, 2012 regular meeting were unanimously approved as printed upon a motion by Mrs. Williams and a second by Mr. Jones.

A memo from Tax Assessor Collector John Ramsey provided the 2012 tax roll values from the Grayson County Appraisal District, showing a tax roll value of \$7,173,336,283. Mr. Jones moved approval of the figures as provided, and Mrs. Williams seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Giles Brown presented the bid proposals to connect our sewer system to the City of Denison's newly installed sewer lines. Mr. Cole moved to accept the bid as presented and Mrs. Butler seconded. The motion was unanimously approved.

Giles Brown requested a method of construction to be used for the various roof repairs on the campus. His recommendation was to use the Request for Proposal (RFP) process in the selection of a vendor for the needed repairs. Dr. Broiles made a motion to accept the RFP method and Mr. Jones seconded. The motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. McMillen presented changes to DEA(Local). The changes and edits were necessary to update and better define our work week policy. He reported that the proposed policy has been reviewed and recommended by the Executive Council. Mrs. Williams moved to approve changes and edits to the local policy as presented. The motion was unanimously approved upon a second by Dr. Barnes-Plyler.

Dr. McMillen reported on HB1206 which requires an annual report be submitted regarding any training received by Board members during the previous year. The minutes of the last regular meeting held by the board during a calendar year must reflect whether each member of the Board has completed any required training. None of our three existing members require any additional training at this time. It was noted that Mrs. Butler attended orientation for new governing Board members at THECB's 2012 Leadership Conference in anticipation of taking her Board position as an unopposed candidate. The four newly elected members will be required to complete training prior to our next annual report.

Giles Brown presented the business office report. The business office report was unanimously approved upon a motion made by Mrs. Butler and a second by Dr. Barnes-Plyler.

Dr. McMillen discussed the president's report with regard to various items including faculty/staff accomplishments, college highlights, media coverage, Spring 2013 enrollment, South Campus Tech Center, Board training, future Board meeting dates, and future events.

Dr. McMillen reported that Linda Horne, ADN Professor, signed her retirement package effective December 31, 2012. Mrs. Williams moved that the retirement be accepted and Dr. Broiles seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. McMillen reported the employment of Kelli Bowen, LVN Professor.

At 10:18 a.m. President McFatridge announced that the Board would conduct a closed session under the Texas Government Code Section 551.074, for the purpose of discussing personnel matters and 551.072 for the purpose of deliberation regarding real property.

The meeting reconvened into open session at 11:30 a.m.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:31 a.m.

	Secretary	
APPROVED AND ADOPTED:		
President, Board of Trustees		