REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The State of Texas)(
		Grayson County Junior College District
County of Grayson)(

At 8:32 a.m. on the fifteenth day of October 2012 the following members were present for the regular session of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Janet Gott - President
Bill McFatridge - Vice President
Ruby Jo Williams - Member
Jack Norman - Member
Dr. Mary Moses - Member
Ralph Jones - Member

One vacancy exists.

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Dr. Jeanie Hardin, Vice President of Instruction; Dr. Brandy Fair, Faculty President; Marc Payne, Vice President of Student Services; Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Shelle Cassell, Marketing and Public Information Director; and Linda Blount, Executive Assistant to the President.

President Gott called the regular meeting to order. She welcomed Terry Hoyle and Mike Elmore of SHW and Jerrie Whiteley, Herald Democrat, to the meeting.

The minutes of the September 18, 2012 regular meeting were unanimously approved upon a motion by Mrs. Williams and a second by Dr. Moses.

Dr. McMillen presented the 2011-12 Affordability and Access report as required by policy BI(Legal).

Giles Brown presented the business office report and the quarterly investment report. Upon a motion by Mr. Norman and a second by Mr. Jones, member unanimously approved the business office and quarterly investment reports.

Dr. McMillen discussed various legislative, TACC, and THECB issues. He provided information from an insurance claim of \$650,000 in roof repairs needed to multiple facilities due to hail damage. He advised members of the positive media coverage the college has experienced recently and of scheduled future events.

Dr. McMillen reported no personnel changes.

President Gott explained that John Ramsey, Grayson County Tax Assessor, has submitted a bid request for a property in Sherwood Shores not sold during the resale auction. Upon a motion by Mr. McFatridge and a second from Mr. Jones, the Board unanimously accepted the bid for this property to get it back on the tax rolls.

Dr. McMillen presented a request from the Curriculum Committee for a new Web Based Small Business Development Program (AAS) that would begin Fall 2013. This new program will include the following: Web Design Tools; Interface Design; Advanced Database; and Project Analysis & Design. He indicated that a substantive change notice was being prepared for submission to SACS. Dr. Moses moved approval of the new program. The motion was unanimously approved upon a second by Mr. McFatridge.

Dr. McMillen, Giles Brown, and Terry Hoyle, SHW, made introductory remarks about the schedule of presenters for the construction manager at risk for the South Campus Technology Center.

At 9:30 a.m. the first company to present, Pogue Construction of McKinney, began their presentation. Those in attendance were: C J Fillingham, Rocky Hussman, Steven Hayes, Jeff Kirk, David Taylor, and Josh Pogue representing Pogue Construction.

Next at 9:50 a.m. was Plyler Construction of Sherman. David Plyler, Mark Floyd and Keith Citty represented Plyler.

Members discussed each company's qualifications and presentation.

Terry Hoyle and Giles Brown opened the proposal tabulation forms from each candidate for the construction manager at risk. A breakdown of bids was distributed with the following results: Total costs: Plyler Construction - \$133,470, and Pogue - \$189,226.

After discussion among members, Mrs. Williams moved that Plyler Construction be awarded the Construction Manager at Risk. Mr. Norman seconded the motion and it was unanimously approved.

Mrs. Gott announced that no executive session would be needed.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:33 p.m.

	Secretary	
APPROVED AND ADOPTED:		
President, Board of Trustees		