REGULAR BOARD MEETING

The State of Texas)(

Grayson County Junior College District

County of Grayson)(

At 8:45 am on the twenty-ninth day of January 2015, the following members were present for the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Grayson County Junior College District, held in the Administrative Services Building Boardroom on the College campus, Denison, Texas:

Dr. Mack Broiles	- President
Mr. Ronnie Cole	- Vice President
Dr. Debbie Plyler	- Secretary
Mr. Ralph Jones	- Member
Mr. Rad Richardson	- Member

The following board members were absent:

Mrs. Jackie Butler	- Member
Mr.Bill McFatridge	- Member

Other College staff members present were: Dr. Jeremy McMillen, President; Mr. Giles Brown, Vice President of Business Services; Mr. Gary Paikowski, Vice President of Information Technology; Dr. Regina Organ, Vice President of Student Services/Interim Vice President of Instruction; Mrs. Carla Fanning, Faculty President; Mrs. Shelle Cassell, Director of Marketing and Public Information; Mr. Randy Truxal, Executive Director of Grayson Foundation; Dr. Debbie Smarr, Director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness; Dr.Dava Washburn, Assistant to the President; Mr. Steve Davis, Dean of Workforce; and Dr. Tony Stanzo, Dean of Academics.

President Broiles called the meeting to order.

The minutes of the November 18, 2014 regular meeting were unanimously approved as printed upon a motion by Dr. Debbie Plyler and a second by Dr. Mack Broiles.

Dr. McMillen introduced Mr. Jim Lindsey and Mr. Brian Grisham of Adami, Lindsey, and Company, representing the accounting firm conducting the 2013-2014 audit for the College (copy attached and made a part of these minutes). Dr. McMillen thanked the auditors and the GC staff for their work during the audit. Upon a motion and second by Mr.Ronnie Cole and Dr. Debbie Plyler, the audit report was approved unanimously.

Mr. Giles Brown discussed a supplemental staff report on financial results for year 2013-2014 that provided additional perspective beyond the financial statements required by GASB and the College's accreditation process. Upon a motion and second by Mr. Rad Richardson and Mr. Ronnie Cole, the report passed as presented.

Dr. Regina Organ presented the proposed 2015-2016 Academic Calendar. Dr. Debbie Plyer made the motion to accept the academic calendar. The motion to approve was seconded by Mr. Rad Richardson and passed unanimously.

Dr. Regina Organ, with the assistance from Dean Tony Stanzo and Dean Steve Davis, provided the proposed curriculum changes from the October 23, 2014; December 4, 2014; and January 13, 2015 Curriculum Committee meetings. Dr. Organ noted that all changes provided in the proposal had all been approved by both the Curriculum Committee and Executive Council. Upon a motion by Mr. Ronnie Cole and a second by Mr. Ralph Jones, the curriculum changes were approved unanimously.

Dr. McMillen presented changes to BGC (Local) Policy. The revisions to the policy include: 1. Curriculum Committee Membership and voting members; 2. The

membership of President's Executive Council; and 3. Members of the committees will be appointed by the President or his designee and appointments will be made annually (usually in August). Upon a motion by Mr. Ralph Jones and second by Dr. Debbie Plyler, the motion passed unanimously.

Dr. McMillen proposed changes to the non-credit fees for FY 2014-2015. The proposed fees are consistent with sister colleges. Dr. Debbie Plyer made the motion to approve the proposed fee changes. Mr. Ralph Jones seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Mr. Giles Brown reported that the College had used Mr. Jim Bono of TES Energy Services, LP since 2005. Mr. Brown recommended that the College formalize its relationship with Mr. Bono to serve as the College's consultant for the selection of electrical providers and rates. Dr.McMillen also requested that he be allowed to execute the contracts for electricity rates in order to take advantages of changes in the market. The College's current rate is locked in until December 2016. Upon a motion and a second by Mr. Ronnie Cole and Mr. Rad Richardson, the motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Giles Brown presented the business office report. Upon a motion and second by Dr. Debbie Plyler and Mr. Ralph Jones, the report was approved.

Mr. Giles Brown then presented the quarterly investment report. Mr. Ronnie Cole made the motion to approve the quarterly investment report. Mr. Rad Richardson seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Dr. Organ presented the Enrollment report indicating the College had an enrolled 4,359 in spring 2015. Currently, the college is enrolling for the second 8 week session. Summer and fall registration will begin on April 1, 2015.

Dr. Debbie Smarr presented the Student Success Report, which included data on the College's Overall Course Conclusion, Completion, and Success Rates Fall 2013 to Fall 2014.

Dr. McMillen presented the President's Report. The report is attached and made part of these minutes. Highlights from the report include recognizing the success of the College with the Bellwether Award; the College sending a team to the Dream Institute in February 2015 for ATD; migrations to new website; and CAMS/Canvas updates.

Dr. McMillen reported that the College had received a letter of resignation from Mr. Stanley Henderson, math faculty. Upon a motion by Mr. Ralph Jones and a second by Mr. Rad Richardson, the resignation was accepted with regrets. Dr. McMillen also noted that Mr. Kevin Faulk and Ms. Melissa Meador have been hired as temporary full time math faculty for the spring semester.

At 9:57 a.m. President Broiles announced that the Board would conduct a closed session under Texas Education Code 511.082-Personnel. At 10:06 a.m., the Board reconvened in open session. A motion was made by Mr. Rad Richardson to extend the President's employment contract for a period of one year through August 31, 2018. Mr. Ralph Jones seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m.

Secretary

APPROVED AND ADOPTED:

President, Board of Trustees